PDA

View Full Version : Recording sources

Londonwhay
07-10-2004, 9:14 PM
I have only been researching my family tree since earlier this year, so I am still new at this. Can anyone give me any advice on the best way to record sources?

John
07-10-2004, 9:43 PM
At the the risk of sounding flippant, which I'm not being, write them down and attach them to the information they relate to. Most family tree programs have the facility for recording sources.

To save repitition you can give commonly used sources a reference no or letter.

Perhaps if you give us an example of what you are aiming for, a slightly more useful answer can be given.
I am glad though that you have seen the importance of recording sources from the out set.

John

Rod Neep
08-10-2004, 12:25 AM
This is, strangely, quite an awkward one, because so many different people do it in so many different ways. Furthermore, if you don't establish a system right from the start, (that works for you), then you will end up having a non-system.

Start with the premise that a "record source" is a record of an event. Not the record of a person. Let me give you a little example:
A church baptism record, is an event that refers to more than one person.
a. the person being baptised
b. the father
c. the mother

and... it can also record other things too:
d. the name of the church, and the place
e. the father's occupation
f. the address of the parents
g. the date.

Hmmmm a baptism record is not so simple at all!

Furthermore, you cannot just "attach" it to the person being baptised. Let's assume that you have a real paper copy. Where would you file it?

Let's take a slightly more complicated event. A page from a census enumerators' book. It contains references to several people in a family. Where would you file that??? With just one of the people??

The answer to that question will give you the answer to "how to record it". Think of records as being a totally separate collection.