PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a WEBB in Lincoln UK

mfwebb
29-01-2008, 3:09 PM
My name is Malcolm WEBB and am new to this forum although I have been researching my family history for 15 years on and off.

My primary research is my WEBB family in Bedfordshire and I have lost my 2x great grandparents who appear to have disappeared off the face of the earth between 1843 and 1851.

John WEBB and Ann BUTTS were married in Houghton Conquest Bedfordshire in October 1843 (I have their marriage certificate). Their son Charles WEBB (my great grandfather) was born in December 1843 in Houghton Conquest Bedfordshire. I have his birth certificate and confirmation of his baptism on 31st December 1843 from the Parish Records.

John WEBB and his family do not appear together in the 1851 Bedfordshire census (I checked this manually at the Bedford records office in 1996).

I subsequently found Charles WEBB aged 17 living with a GOODMAN family in Hillmorton Warwickshire in the 1861 census once it became available on-line. Charles is described as "son in law" to the Head Thomas Goodman.

Checking Thomas GOODMAN in the 1851 census, I found them at the same address but Charles aged 7 was listed as Charles GOODMAN son of the Head.

So, it appears that my ggf Charles WEBB was "adopted" by Thomas GOODMAN and his wife sometime between his birth in 1843 and the 1851 census. I have not found any connection whatsoever between the WEBBs of Houghton Conquest and the GOODMANs of Hillmorton.