PDA

View Full Version : SISSON/MARKLAND

Chisel
31-12-2007, 3:39 AM
Hi, my names Peter and I'm an alcoholic, err oops I mean genealogist. I've been doing this for the last 5 years or so.
Most of my family lines have already been researched back the England, Scotland, Ireland & Germany.
Lucky for me my grandfathers SISSON/TUSON side is largely unresearched.
However at present I having alot of trouble tracking my Gt grand aunt Grace MARKLAND (nee SISSON).
This is what I know so far.
Grace SISSON born 24 June 1894, 2 Skeffington Rd, Preston (family home)
Married Norman MARKLAND, 22 May 1920 Holy Trinity Church, Preston
Grace lived at 138 Friargate Age 25 spinster whilst Norman lived 50 Chorley Rd, Bolton & was a Cotton-Super nennetary? (carn't read clearly).

Next link, Grace died in Aalst, Belgium 28 April 1927 from complications of child birth of her only son Howard James MARKLAND. Norman's occupation is Mill Manager.
Norman & Howard returned to Bolton where he remarried Christian Isobel SOUTHERN and had another child Edward Brian MARKLAND and emmigrated to Canada 1936 with family. Norman then travelled to England and back to Canada in 1937 where he eventually died 1943 Quebec.

I currently have a Belgian FGS member tracking Grace in Aalst. Would somebody be willing to search electoral rolls or what ever between 1920-1936. The findmypast shipping records do not record Belgian passengers. Also how would I find the Mill that Norman worked at? I have written to a couple but they have not been able to find him. Also why would Grace not have an occupation list on marriage certificate when she was not living at the faimily home?
Phew...got all that? any assistance is greatly appreciated.
This request has been listed on other sites without response/success.

Chisel
01-01-2008, 3:49 AM
Hi, I suspected that this was not the place to place a query. I have moved it accross to Beginners questions.

Geoffers
01-01-2008, 12:43 PM