PDA

View Full Version : Is Yorkshire made of Brick Walls? - An intro

MythicalMarian
04-12-2007, 4:44 PM
Hello there everyone, just posting to introduce myself, and pass on a 25 year problem! I have been researching my family history since 1985 and seem to have success everywhere except with my great grandmother Marian Harding (1834-1904) - hence my choice of user name! I am beginning to think this lady was a figment of my great grandfather's imagination - or perhaps he carved a statue and brought it to life in true Pygmalion fashion! Thankfully, she did produce 10 fine sons and a daughter, all of whom have lovely birth certificates that she registered and signed, so I do know she's not quite a myth. More of Marian and her even more mythical father, John, later - I will post on the Yorkshire subforum. (Believe me, I've been at this game some time, so I know every trick in the book, but Marian and her Dad still won't reveal themselves.)

My main surnames (with the exception of Harding) have all proved fairly easy to trace one way or another - from the days of a simple spiral-topped notebook at libraries and record offices to today's wonderful array of online censuses and BMDs. I will post these later in the appropriate county folders. But just for the moment - hope everyone will get their brains around this one: