PDA

View Full Version : HART Family History from Milton Ernest, England

tdhart
02-12-2007, 9:42 PM
Hello, I am fairly new at starting my family history tree. I have originated my ancestors from Milton Ernest, England (Bedfordshire). A William L Hart, b. 9/13/1747 in Oakley, England and came over from England on a ship named Diamond around 1774. I was wanting to get information from his lineage back. Can anyone help me on this matter?

davidcarca
03-12-2007, 7:03 AM
I see there are a number of trees on Rootsweb for this family. I never trust other people's trees!

What evidence is there that the William Hart who went to Maryland in 1774 was the William Hart baptised in Oakley in 1747 other than the age is right? The IGI (see below) has 107 baptisms, some of which may be duplicated entries, for William Hart in England in 1747 +/- 2, and bear in mind that the IGI is far from a complete coverage.

Assuming that this is the right William Hart (and I'm far from convinced from what I've seen on the internet that it's any more than a guess) virtually all of Bedfordshire baptisms and marriages pre 1812 have been extracted onto the IGI at www.familysearch.org, so this is the index to consult first

A William Hart married Mary Evins at Oakley on 23 Oct 1746 according to member submissions on the IGI. In the absence of an extracted entry I would take this with a pinch of salt until I'd actually checked the parish register. You say you've established that your ancestors came from Milton Ernest - how have you confirmed this? If you're extremely lucky the entry may say William Hart of Milton Ernest, but before 1754 the entries are rarely this helpful. So your next hurdle is to establish that William who allegedly married in Oakley was from Milton Ernest. The two villages are adjacent so it's very likely, in the absence of a baptism of a William in Oakley at the right time.