PDA

View Full Version : Heraldry on tablet to Henry Parry in Worcester Cathedral

Barbara Griffiths
30-11-2004, 2:31 PM
Last week I visited Worcester Cathedral in search of the monument to Henry PARRY, Bishop of Worcester 1610-1616. His effigy still exists but it has lost much of the original surround (I have a drawing of the original). It has also been moved but there is a tablet marking its original position. The tablet was erected by a Susan HARTSHORNE and shows the following Coat of Arms.
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/im.griffiths/parryfamilyhistory/hp2.jpg

Can anyone identify what families are represented, please?

If anyone has information on who the Susan HARTSHORNE was, I'd be pleased to hear from them as well.

Thanks
Barbara

geoffpowers
11-01-2005, 4:53 PM
Henry Parry sounds as if he has Welsh origins ('ap Harri'). I am not an expert on heraldry and cannot begin to identify the quarterings displayed. However, my limited knowledge tells me that armorial bearings displayed on a lozenge are usually attibutable to a female (his mother?). However, it is possible that a lozenge was also used by someone who, as a cleric, was unable to bear (i.e. disqualified from bearing) arms on the battlefield.

I think you need to talk to someone at Worcester Cathedral itself, at Worcestershire County Records Office or National Archives who knows more about the history of Parry's interment in the cathedral and about heraldry.

As Bishop Henry Parry was clearly a man of some considerable importance there may well be references to him (though not actual documents) available via the Access to Archives (A2A) web site.

I cannot help you with Susan Hartshorne - possibly a wife, daughter, married sister of thhink you need to talk to someone at Worcester Cathedral itself, at Worcestershire County Records Office or National Archives who knows more about the history of Parry's interment in the cathedral and about heraldry.

Regards

Geoff

Fulhamster
12-01-2005, 2:00 PM
Hiya!