PDA

View Full Version : What's the difference between the Navy & the Marines?

peapod
07-11-2007, 4:20 PM
Hi,
I'm new to any kind of military history and wondered if any one can help me with what is probably a really silly question. What is the difference between the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines?

My GG Grandfather FRED GIBSON has Royal Marine listed as his occupation on his marriage certificate in 1901. I think I've found the right man in the 1901 census at ROYAL MARINE BARRACKS EAST STONEHOUSE. The enumerator has all the men listed as Navy Men. So is there a difference between the two?

Peter Goodey
07-11-2007, 6:45 PM
"Navy men" is written in a different hand, perhaps by a clerk back in the office. It looks as if he was trying to distinguish between officers and men, not between the services, but still made a bit of a hash of it.

Your man is shown as a private which is not a naval rank. I think you can be pretty sure he was in the Marines. You may find it interesting to wind back and look at the start of the book.

Geoffers
07-11-2007, 8:31 PM
I'm new to any kind of military history and wondered if any one can help me with what is probably a really silly question. What is the difference between the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines?

The Royal Marines is a corps of soldiers who are carried on ships and trained to fight on land and at sea.

The Royal Navy consists of a lot of sailors who travel around in warships of varying size.

Peter Goodey
07-11-2007, 8:44 PM
...and nobody has ever popularised the greeting "Hello, marine!" :D

peapod
07-11-2007, 10:31 PM
Thanks to you both, I now understand.
Regards peapod.

peter nicholl
08-11-2007, 2:54 PM
Hi peapod
Both the Royal Marines and the Royal Navy come under the authority of the Admiralty and not what in the past would have been the War Office.