PDA

View Full Version : Army Veterinary Corp

June Welsby
30-07-2007, 3:38 AM
My husbands grandfather was a member of the Army Veterinary Corp during WW1. He doesn't have a Service Number. Can anybody give me any information about this Corp. How does one join (obviously you have to be a vet) who are they answerable to and are they attached to any regiment or what?
How do I go about obtaining his records?

June Welsby

keith9351
30-07-2007, 7:16 AM
200 year history of the Royal Army Veterinary Corps

www.army.mod.uk/medical/royal_army_veterinary_corps/ravc_history/index.htm

Keith

Peter Goodey
30-07-2007, 7:36 AM
obviously you have to be a vet
I don't think so! Not for other ranks.

Obtain his records in the usual way ie they're probably lost.

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue/RdLeaflet.asp?sLeafletID=18

seekingsusan
31-12-2008, 3:01 PM
Hi June,

I don't think they had to be qualified vets. A soldier I found in the service records was a butcher by trade. Tells you something, doesn't it?

I'm trying to establish the ID of my ancestor who may have been in the AVC before transferring to RAMC. He had been into game and poultry before joining up.

I'm just going onto this website that has been recommended -

Kind regards,

Sue:)

Retlaw
01-01-2009, 11:45 PM
My husbands grandfather was a member of the Army Veterinary Corp during WW1. He doesn't have a Service Number. Can anybody give me any information about this Corp. How does one join (obviously you have to be a vet) who are they answerable to and are they attached to any regiment or what?
How do I go about obtaining his records?

June Welsby

If he was in the army in WW1 he must have had a number, most men who served in that unit, were to tend the horses, those that had been wounded or were exhausted etc, others were issued with a revolver and special ammo headstamped C.K.

Cattle Killers, they were used to put animals out of their misery, other men were employed to get rid of the carcases.