PDA

View Full Version : Pension entitlements

Ed McKie
02-05-2007, 7:02 AM
Does anyone know how long a soldier would have needed to have served to qualify for a pension from the army in the 1870s ?
Would seven years have been long enough ? Have not been able to identify how long they signed on for in those days.

Cheers..Ed

Geoffers
02-05-2007, 9:48 AM
This TNA research guide gives some information on pensions
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue/RdLeaflet.asp?sLeafletID=15

Up to 1883, soldiers were discharged on pension for either disability or on completion of 21 years service. After 1883, discharge could be for limited periods of engagement.

Geoffers

Mythology
02-05-2007, 5:41 PM
But, while it is (as far as I am aware - I'm no military expert!) not relevant to Ed's case...

Don't believe everything you read on TNA leaflets.

With regard to Disability Pensions (Chelsea out-pensions, labelled "Cavalry and Infantry" in the catalogue) in WO116, that leaflet states:
"for disability, 1715-1882, in WO 116"
The only other reference to WO116 is in the Royal Artillery stuff:
"1833-1913 Royal Artillery pensions WO 116/125 to WO 116/185"

So - no records for Disability Pensions (Chelsea out-pensions) after 1882. :(
They seem to have forgotten that when the Royal Artillery stuff finishes, the ordinary "Cavalry and Infantry" stuff then re-starts at WO116/186, and, like the "Length of Service" ones in WO117, goes right up to 1913.
And, yes, I did point it out to them - about six or seven years ago, when, completely ignorant of army records so following their leaflet, I was unable to find my fellow, who I had a service record for, until a more knowledgeable friend said "Oh - that leaflet's [self-censored]" and pointed me in the right direction.

(Not that my fellow was actually disabled - he was awarded a Special Campaign Pension, and I guess they didn't know what to do about those, as WO116/242 is where it turned up, not in WO117, which I'd already checked.)