PDA

View Full Version : Are mistakes in age common?

Londonwhay
17-11-2004, 9:07 PM
I have a birth certificate for Emily WHAY, born 21 Sept 1894. I also have a marriage certificate for her, marriage took place 24 September 1916. This states her age as 21. Now unless my maths are wrong I make her age as 22 when she got married. Is it possible that she 'forgot' she had a birthday a couple of days before her marriage? Or is this kind of error common?

Glenda

Guy Etchells
17-11-2004, 10:05 PM
Yes very common but in this case not at all surprising as she would have given her age when arranging the wedding banns or licence and it would simply be transfferred to the register.
Cheers
Guy

Londonwhay
17-11-2004, 10:09 PM
Can't you just tell I'm new at all this!

Thanks folks, I'll stop worrying about it now. :)

Glenda

Terry Waters-Marsh
17-11-2004, 10:34 PM
Can't you just tell I'm new at all this!

Thanks folks, I'll stop worrying about it now. :)

GlendaErrors in age, as Guy stated, are quite common. The further back you go, the more likely you will find the errors. Part of the reason is the illiteracy rates among the people - the further back, the higher the illiteracy rates. Also, most people judged their lives around the seasons rather than on calender days/months. This is still common in farming communities today. As such, calender months were not taken much notice of and it would be easy to slip a year or two every decade of a person's life.

Sometimes people put their age 'up', for instance, to enlist in the armed forces, or 'down' for vanity reasons. My grandfather lived with a defacto for the last 28 years of his life. When he died, she was the informant for the death certificate and she gave his age as 72 when in fact it was 78. For middle-aged single men, 42 is far preferable to 50! His mother did the same when she was widowed and remarried although she only knocked 2 years off her age (51 down to 49).