PDA

View Full Version : Siblings

Finnis
08-11-2004, 6:04 PM
Please excuse a rather crass question as I'm VERY new to Genealogy but how on earth do you find siblings? At the moment I have a long thin line going from my mother to my Great great grandparents, but with the exception of my grandfather I can't trace any siblings at all. I've managed to dig up birth and marriage certs through the 1837 online, but can't find any of the elusive swines on the cenus'. I've got as far back as about 1831, but I can't believe they were all "only" children!
Thanks to anyone who can help at all!

Guy Etchells
08-11-2004, 6:42 PM
Census returns are the easiest way to find siblings but they may not always show up there. It was not uncommon for children to die before they were ten years old and so it is quite possible to miss then on census for that reason.
Have you found any wills for the family, wills are a good source for siblings and other family relationships.

Trawling through the General Register Office (GRO, St Catherine's Index, 1837) is another way to find siblings.
Until 1972 it was possible to pop down to the registrar's office and browse through the registers (births & deaths) but many have now stopped that practise even though it is still enshrined in law.
It is still possible to browse the baptism registers if your ancestors had their children baptised and you know the parish in question.
Cheers
Guy

Geoffers
09-11-2004, 9:12 AM
Please excuse a rather crass question as I'm VERY new to Genealogy but how on earth do you find siblings? At the moment I have a long thin line going from my mother to my Great great grandparents, but with the exception of my grandfather I can't trace any siblings at all. I've managed to dig up birth and marriage certs through the 1837 online, but can't find any of the elusive swines on the cenus'. I've got as far back as about 1831, but I can't believe they were all "only" children!