PDA

View Full Version : Where is Greenoch?

Barsby
08-11-2004, 5:10 AM
I am looking for help in locating an address. I have a James Oliver living at 12 Belleville St. Greenoch or Greenock in 1881. Would SKS please help with this address. Would like to know if it is near Glasgow. I have little knowledge of the area. Thanks for any help you may be able to offer.
Regards, Brenda from Ontario, Canada.

Geoffers
08-11-2004, 8:07 AM
A good online map is:

http://www.streetmap.co.uk/

Enter the place name, Greenock and you'll see it is a town on the Clyde - from memory about 15-20 miles west of Glasgow.

If the street still exists, you should also be able to locate it with this map.

Geoffers
Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Guy Etchells
08-11-2004, 10:33 AM
Yes it is just west of Glasgow, I would suggest the Old Maps site as that site gives 6 inch to the mile maps from 1891.
http://www.old-maps.co.uk/
Cheers
Guy

Barsby
08-11-2004, 4:53 PM
Thank you Geoffers and Guy for the help. Found the area I needed. Knowing where to look and that the street is still there is great.
Sure appreciate you help.
Brenda, from cold Ontario, Canada.

29-05-2005, 1:51 AM
I am looking for help in locating an address. I have a James Oliver living at 12 Belleville St. Greenoch or Greenock in 1881. Would SKS please help with this address. Would like to know if it is near Glasgow. I have little knowledge of the area. Thanks for any help you may be able to offer.
Regards, Brenda from Ontario, Canada.
Hi Brenda
Greenock is in Scotland but quite a good bit away from Glasgow
i will find the exact area and get back to you
best wishes
Madge Taylor

Wirral
29-05-2005, 8:57 AM