PDA

View Full Version : Looking for William Goater

mariapbf
20-06-2006, 2:08 PM
Hi, I'm new to this and looking for information on my ggg grandfather William Goater. He was a soldier in the 49th Hertfordshire regiment joining up in Hereford in 1844 and going with the regiment to Ireland where he married in 1846 in Ballinrobe.
In 1853 he was posted with the regiment in Malta where he had a son and he took part in the war in the Crimea where he died on 27/2/1855.
I have contacted the regimental organisation, The Wardrobe and they have looked for William at Kew but have been unable to unearth any further details. Without his enlistment details I am unable to find out details of his family etc,.
Having read some of the other postings I was wondering if anyone could advise/ or had access to any info that may be helpful.
I feel that I know so little about him and would love to know how he died and where our family originated from.
Many thanks
Maria

neil1821
20-06-2006, 9:04 PM
Hi Maria,
Can confirm Private William Goater is on the medal roll for the Crimea.
Service number ends in 79 (as often happens, part is illegible).
Also says he got the clasp for the Alma (presumably also Sebastopol?) but was not at Inkerman.
Can I ask how you know he died in the Crimea? I can't immediately see his name on the casualty roll.

Neil

mariapbf
21-06-2006, 9:23 AM
Dear Neil

Gosh thanks so much - I am totally overwhelmed. I've been looking for him forever. Where is the medal roll? Is it possible to get a hard copy? Was the Alma clasp a medal? Are there any other details, wound etc,.?