PDA

View Full Version : can anyone help me?

terrij
23-04-2006, 3:59 AM
Hi
I am hoping someone may be able to help me with my search. I am trying to trace the marriage of Henry Garnham to "Fanny ?".They appear in the 1861 census of Boston Lincolnshire and had 7 children ranging from 23 years old to 9 years old.At that time Henry was 54 and Fanny was 51 years old I figure the were married about 1836/37.The wife "Fanny" died in boston 1866. My main reason for the search is to find out the maiden name of "Fanny"
Can someone point me in the right direction. I am fairly new at this.
It has taken me ages to get to this point. Incorrect BDM information hear in Australia has been a problem.
Hope to hear from someone.

ChristineR
23-04-2006, 4:30 AM
Depending how much you want to know - purchasing the birth registration of one of the children would reveal the mother's maiden name. Were they born in Boston too?

You will get to the stage where you will have to look at Parish registers for baptisms and marriages if they are not already extracted on the IGI, or found elsewhere on the internet.

I sympathise with incorrect BDM information - it can lead you up the wrong roads quite easily - especially death certifcates which are only as good as the knowledge of the informant, and times of grief are not the best of times for remembering details.

Christine
Australia

ET in the USA
23-04-2006, 5:59 AM
The following is from a search on the free website freebmd.rootsweb.com