PDA

View Full Version : the family Rooke in Southill

saraht
05-04-2006, 6:12 PM
Would anybody please be kind enough to help me with information regarding the Rooke family especially Samuel born c1844 as he is my maternal great great grandfather. I am new to all this and seem to have got stuck

thanks and kind regards to all

sarah

Davran
05-04-2006, 6:40 PM
Hi Sarah,

You could try looking for him on the 1881 census - it's free at ancestry or you could look on the IGI at www.familysearch.org (http://www.familysearch.org) - that's also free. I assume you know at least one of his children, so that name will tell you if you have the right family. Once you have found him on a census you will know where he was born, so you will be able to find him more easily on other censuses. If you go back to the 1851 (you will have to pay for this one) you should find his parents and siblings.

Good hunting!

janbooth
06-04-2006, 12:11 PM
Hi Sarah,

There is this family in the 1851 census of Southill which you can bookmark in case he turns out to be your Samuel. I assume you already have birth and marriage certificates and other pieces of evidence which have led you to a Samuel ROOK(E) born in Southill. If you let us know what you already have, I'm sure there are many people on this Forum who will be able to help you further. In the meantime, here is one to bookmark:

HO107/1753, folio 663, pages 4/5
Southill

George ROOK Head Mar 31 Ag Labr Bedfordshire Broom
Ann do Wife Mar 28 do do
Elizabeth do Daur 8 Straw Plaiter do do
Samuel do Son 5 do do do
Alfred do Son 2 do do

Broom is a village next door to Southill.

Janet.

saraht
06-04-2006, 1:28 PM
Thank you for the good advice