PDA

View Full Version : Business or house tenancy??

Julie Tyrell
20-02-2006, 4:54 PM
Hi

I am new to all this and want to know if it possible to find out who owned a particular business or premises in the 1920-30's?? Is so is this a trip to London??

Thanks

Geoffers
20-02-2006, 10:50 PM
Finding the owner of premises then may be difficult. Is this a private house, shop, factory? If commercial premises, is the owner likely to have lived on the property?

If the property was sold at any time, it is almost certain to have been advertised. If it was a business, you may find the owner's name on the advert. The problem then is locating when it was sold and the advert. Can you trace the property in any directory?

A few years earlier, possibly too early for you, there are the records created under the Finance Act 1910. See TNA's research guide http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue/rdleaflet.asp?sLeafletID=102

The title of the thread includes the word 'tenancy' - are you after tenants, or owners?

Geoffers

Julie Tyrell
05-04-2006, 11:26 AM
I am trying to find out when a person took ownership of a house about 1927- 1945, the property apparent was sold, demobilshed and new houses were built in its place. I haven't been able to confirm this, though I can't find a post code for the house (9 Vale Road, Ramsgate); the rest of the street is listed.

How can I find out who owned 9 Vale Road and when it was sold??
thanks Julie

Ed McKie
06-04-2006, 8:10 AM
I am trying to find out when a person took ownership of a house about 1927- 1945, the property apparent was sold, demobilshed and new houses were built in its place. I haven't been able to confirm this, though I can't find a post code for the house (9 Vale Road, Ramsgate); the rest of the street is listed.

How can I find out who owned 9 Vale Road and when it was sold??
thanks Julie