PDA

View Full Version : GGrandfathers Burial

Moulder86
11-01-2006, 1:31 PM
I'm relatively new to the whole genealogy thing, although I have always asked questions about my past family and that sort of thing.

I have come up with a bit of a problem my Grandad can't remeber where his father is buried, despite attending the funeral. They belive him to be buried in Bradford-upon-Avon church yard, but we have not been able to find him. I called the Wiltshire council and enquired about it and spoke to the relevant people but there is no record of him being buried in that particular place.

His name is Walter Willsher and died between 1960 and 1970, would somebody please tell me the best way for me to find him.

Thank you I appreciate any help.

Stacey

JanM
11-01-2006, 6:14 PM
Hi Stacey
If your family is relatively confident of the general area where your G-gt father was buried, it could be a good plan to check out the funeral directors in the surrounding district. I don't know about in the UK, but here in NZ funeral directors have quite detailed records, including family information.
Good luck.
Jan

busyglen
11-01-2006, 6:51 PM
Could he have been buried in a local Cemetery rather than the churchyard? If so the local authority would have details of the names and details of the graves. I note that you said you had tried the Wiltshire Council, but it may be that they don't have all of the individual authorities details in that area. I'm not sure on this, but it's worth a try.

Glenys

Moulder86
11-01-2006, 8:36 PM
I really appreciate both of your ideas, I hadn't thought of the funeral directors that sounds like a good plan. Also I didn't think about the local authorities, I will give them both a go thank you very much.

Stace

Pam Downes
12-01-2006, 3:07 AM
Hi Stacey,