PDA

View Full Version : Born in Canada a British subject

swiggin74
30-11-2005, 9:22 PM
Hello,

I am an English researcher who is researching an ancestor born in Canada, a British subject. He was born in approx 1887 in Toronto, Canada. Could anyone tell me how I would go about obtaing a birth certificate for him? He left Canada, with his parents not long after his birth, and returned to the UK. I would also be interested to know if anyone can help me to find details of his entry and exit of Canada, ie. passenger lists etc.

Many Thanks
Sam.

KarenP
04-12-2005, 2:58 AM
http://www.collectionscanada.ca/genealogy/022-504-e.html

Sam You might try the above link. If it does not work go to

http://www.collectionscanada.ca/

click the English button
go to the far right of the screen and click on the words "Canadian Genealogy Centre"

then click on "Databases" near the top of the document....and then scroll down until you see a heading that says Immigration...there is a link there to click on for those who came to Canada in the 1800's...The parent's of the person you are researching may be mentioned in that list.

Geoffers
04-12-2005, 9:04 AM
I would also be interested to know if anyone can help me to find details of his entry and exit of Canada, ie. passenger lists etc
There are inbound passenger lists available at The National Archives, for passengers arriving since 1878. These are held in BT26. The problem is that they are arranged by port and there is no central index.

Geoffers

Linda
04-12-2005, 3:44 PM
Sam

If you would like to post more details (name, name of parents, father's occupation) I will have a look in the birth index next time I go to the Family History Centre, but I cannot go before they close for the Christmas holidays. They are closed for a month, so it could be end of January before I will be going there again.

If he is found in the index then I will be able to look at his birth record as well - no need to buy a certificate.

Best Wishes
Linda