PDA

View Full Version : Lost Cousins

BeeE586
15-02-2006, 1:51 AM
This is a site for entering family found on the 1881 census. However, the term 'cousin' can be widely interpreted - just what degree of cousinship do other posters enter if they use this site. I have got children and grandchildren of MY great grandparents brothers and sisters and no doubt could find others - do they all go on ? May I have your opinion please ?

Eileen -- |wave|

Burrow Digger
15-02-2006, 5:13 AM
bearing in mind that anyone being posted to Lost cousins must be on the 1881 census, as long as both them and you have a KNOWN common ancestor somewhere, they can be posted.

My gt grandfather Isaac is on the 1881 census, his parents (John & Emma) are not. But I have posted all the nieces, nephews and siblings of Isaac because they all descend from the common ancestor - John & Emma.

Hope this helps.

Burrow Digger

Ed McKie
15-02-2006, 6:50 AM
I have no knowledge of this site except what I have seen there. Whilst the concept appears fine, I still have uneasy feelings about a site operating in this way. First they claim free registration, which is true, but then in the fine print refer to a subscription in order to fully use the site. I could not find the amount of the subscription anywhere. So it seems to be that they wish to suck you in, get you to upload your information, and then when there appears to be some benefit to you, to hit you with an unspecified sum.

Secondly in the user agreement there is the phrase "In paying the Subscription Fee you are agreeing to commence using your Subscription promptly, which means that you do not have the right to cancel your Full Membership during the cooling-off period that might otherwise apply, and which is specified in the Consumer Protection (Distance Selling) Regulations 2000."
Now why would any up front business want to use a device to circumvent consumers rights ?

Cheers..Ed

Terry
15-02-2006, 2:20 PM