PDA

View Full Version : New to Scottish Genealogy

RichardMarcJ
03-01-2006, 7:49 PM
I have finally been able to contact the widow of my late grandfather's brother. She was able to provide me with many dates of birth and death for my grandfather, his siblings, uncles, aunts, and grandparents from the Family Bible. However, it appears my grandfather's father's side of the family was from Scotland. I have always done English genealogy, as most of my family originates in England (except for one side from Ireland). So, Scottish genealogy is new to me.

I have traditionally used the Ancestry census records and IGI. This has been free for me as the local historical society that I am a member of has kindly allowed me to use their computers for over a year now, enabling me to greatly expand my English family tree. However, they do not have access to Scottish records.

I am only a high school student and have very little funds, I was wondering how much it would cost me to look up Scottish census records?

The only clue that the family Bible had about my grandfather's Scottish heritage is it listed his grandfather as:
Joseph Johnstone
Born: 1858 in Glasgow, Scotland
Died: 1945
Married Mary Carr, born 1862, died 1928

Apparently, the name changed from Johnstone to Johnson when he made a mistake on my great-grandfather's birth certificate, and the name stuck. If you could help or have any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much.

Geoffers
03-01-2006, 8:34 PM
Sorry, I can't help with costs for using Scottish records as I haven't needed them. However, I do have the 1881 census transcripts on CD. I've tried searching the Lowland disc but cannot specifically locate your chap on the information given. You mentioned that you have names of siblings, if could you post these along with any rough years of birth, I'd be happy to try again. There are people of the right name born within a few years in roughly the area.