Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mikejduk

Post How did my Grandfather die at Ypres?

This may appear to be a very naive question, however, I'm new to chasing up the war record for my maternal Grandfather and I would like to find out more.

As a youngster I recall my mother always proudly boasting that her Dad, Private Thomas Parsons SR 7233, was wounded in WW1 and killed in WW2. She was only six when he was killed so she could be forgiven for getting it wrong. From the information I've traced about him, he signed up in 1903 at the age of 18 and was KIA on 12th November 1914. So, I figure he may have been wounded during training exercises and was sent home on medical grounds, or he completed his 3 years Conscription, then when WW1 broke out was called up and subsequently KIA during the first push for YPRES. He was with the Cheshire regiment's 1st Battalion. I have found his WW1 record that confirms he is mentioned at the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial.

I would like to find out:

1. What happened on the 12th November 1914. Are there any diaries or records that state the actions of the Cheshire regiment's 1st Battalion that date? Looking for this information in the records here has turned up nothing. From the searches I've carried out they don't even recognise the Cheshire regiment were there on that fateful day.

2. When a soldier is recorded as Killed in Action but had no identifiable corpse to confirm the fact, who and on what basis did they decide that a particular soldier was killed?

3. Did they do a head count on the hour or at the end of a watch or day?

4. If the identity of the bodies weren't established or recovered, were they generally buried where they were killed?

5. Why were some soldiers' bodies never given a proper burial in marked graves after the war?

6. Does any work retrieving the buried on the battle fields still take place today?