Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Scotlands People query

Can anyone tell me why when I search in Ancestry.co.uk I can see information on the 1891 Census but it is not showing up in Scotland's people. I would like to confirm that certain members of the family are daughters and not granddaughters.
    Ancestry does not give me as much detail as Scotland's People normally does.

Thanks, I am pretty new to this.

hello GlesgaSmiles
    would you like to give us the details of the family you are looking for so we can see exactly what is happening?
    I went on to ancestry and entered Richard Smith (as a test name) in Scotland. There were quite a few in 1891 and I found one with a large family. For this test family the relationship to the head of the house is the fourth line down. This isn't happening for your family and doesn't explain why you can't find them at all on the ScotlandsPeople unless there is a mistranscription of the name.

Hallo GlesgaSmiles (I was brought up in Glasgow ) and welcome to B-G. You originally posted this in the Introduce Yourself forum, which is really just for introductions. As this is more of a query, I have moved it to the Scotland forum.

As christanel says, let us have the 1891 details you have and maybe someone can help you track them down on SP
    Sue Mackay
    Insanity is hereditary - you get it from your kids

Knowledgeable and helpful stepives's Avatar

To answer your question, the census page may have been missed by Scotlands People, or transcribed differently/wrongly.

Steve.