Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Starting to feel at home

Default Williams from Wales to Wisconsin

Going back on my mothers side of the family I come to a halt at my Great Grandmother Eleanor Williams born c1839 in Anglesey, Wales. As far as I know she married twice, first to Hugh Hughes 1867 then to Daniel Jones 1879, it is from the second marriage that I descend. From her marriage certificate to Hugh Hughes I know that her father was Richard Williams a Farmer but on Anglesey that’s where I come to an end. However, we have a letter sent to my Grandmother from her cousin Margaret E. Williams living in Randolph, R.7.D.#2. Wisconsin USA. In this letter she say “Do you speak the Welsh Language……I am better versed in the Welsh language myself although I have been a public school teacher for 12 years.” At the date of this letter 1907 she is still teaching. She goes on to say that her father instructed them in the language when they were at home. She asks after an Aunt Kate who I have know knowledge of, also she says that she has 3 sisters 2 married Lizzie (possible Elizabeth) and the youngest Mirrian who has a daughter aged 3 (no name given) the other sister is named as Anna and is the eldest.
    One last bit which I know is that my Great grandmother left Anglesey when she was about 13 and both her marriages are in Liverpool her second husband was also from Anglesey and was a seaman.
    Search as I may I can not find any of these people in Wisconsin, my thoughts are if I could make a link then I may be able with their fathers details be able to build a better picture of the family and thereby find the right Richard Williams. I have tryied to make cintact with the office in Randolph but recieved no reply any help will be appriecated.
    Roy

Nicolina

a search of the Census gives Randolph in Missouri, not Wisconsin. Have you found Margaret on any Census?

Mutley

There is a family in Anglesey in the 1851 census.