Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Jim Davis

Default Stait family - Gloucester

I have been researching my and my wife's family history for about 2 years, almost exclusively in USA and Canada. I am starting to expand to Europe and UK and must admit to some intimidation. Not sure where and how to start. One family I am working on is my wife's gg grandfather. The information I have is

William Stait b. 7 Apr 1813 Gloucester, Glouchestershire
    married Mary Norton b. 1818 England.
    The family emigrated to Canada in 1851.
    Four children were born in England prior to emigration
    William Jr. b. 14 Feb 1841, George 1843, Thomas 1845 and Lucy Ann 1848.

Unfortunately there are not a lot of specifics to work with there, but suggestions/assistance will be appreciated.

Jim Davis

Brick wall demolition expert!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Davis View Post
    William Stait b. 7 Apr 1813 Gloucester, Glouchestershire
    married Mary Norton b. 1818 England.
    As a start for you, if you obtain William and Mary's marriage certificate, this should give you the name of their fathers. Looking at the Gloucestershire BMD, they married in 1839...

1839 : STAIT William, NORTON Mary, North Cotswolds, Temple Guiting St Mary

See here for the Gloucestershire BMD...

ww3.
    gloucestershire.gov.uk/bmd/MainMenu.aspx

You can order their marriage certifcate through the GRO.

Note: As an aside, if you search the Gloucestershire BMD for births between 1837 and 1851, where the surname is STAIT and the mother's former name is NORTON, there are 7 results, although they may not all be by the same couple.

janbooth

I don't know if you have this information already, but this looks as if it could be Mary NORTON's parents & siblings in the 1841 census of Temple Guiting:

HO107/360/0, folios 17/18, pages 8/9

George NORTON 45 Farmer Born in county yes
    Mary do 45 yes
    Robert do 25 yes
    Jane do 20 yes
    William do 15 yes
    George do jnr 11 yes