Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    foxgrapes

Default Illegitimacy and Marriage Certificates

I have a marriage record between Joseph Graves born abt 1837 and Mary Ann Pain. His age is marked as 'full' on the record with no Father's name. An experienced researcher friend advises me that because there is no Father's name on the marriage record, Joseph is most likely illegitimate. Is this always the case, or is the father's name sometimes left off for any number of reasons?
    Im fairly new at researching so I would like another opinion before I go off on a tangent trying to find his parents. Thanks

Reputation beyond repute

Illegitimacy is the likeliest reason but it could be because the groom didn't know his father's name (eg because he died during the child's infancy) or because he'd had a bust up with his father and wasn't putting that so-and-so's name on his marriage certificate.

But it doesn't really make any difference at this stage - there aren't many 'tangents' available . If there's no father's name on the marriage certificate, you only have one route to go down initially. If he was born in about 1837, this route will probably be parish registers. His birth details when you find them may well explain the marriage certificate.

mfwebb

On my great grandfather's marriage certificate in 1866 there is no father's name. But there is a father's name on his birth certificate in 1843. In many of the census returns his place of birth is N.K. (not known). His mother remarried in 1846 claiming to be a widow (I say claiming because I have not been able to locate a death certificate for her husband). His parents were married -- I have their marriage certificate in 1843.

Contrast this with my grandmother who married in 1910. Her father is named and deceased and his occupation is also given. He died when she was 18 months old so she could never have remembered him.

All the best,

Malcolm Webb
    Lincoln UK

Name well known on Brit-Gen