Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    BearPear

Smile Is the MY error?

I haven't visited for a while and have merrily been tripping along building up my tree using on-line and real-life resources. I have an Ancestry subscription and have been re-visiting my older research and checking out new documents which have been uploaded. This has uncovered a problem for me which, while not exactly being a "brick wall" I am at the point of frustration where I feel like banging my head!

I will try to be brief and describe my problem.

From working backwards from my maternal grandfather I "know" that my ancestor is an Edward JOWETT who, according to his marriage certificate, had a father named James JOWETT. James married a lady called Jane STITT (she was born in Belfast and I have their marriage certificate). On the marriage certificate James' father is Samuel. On James' birth certificate he was born in Halifax and his parents are Samuel JOWETT and Caroline nee HELLAWELL.

Samuel and Caroline are on the census from 1861 with their children John, James (above), William and Sarah-Ann, all born in the 1850s.

So, it looks like James is the son of Samuel, who was married to Caroline.

However, I can find no marriage for Samuel and Caroline - BUT (and this is where my headache started) on Ancestry there is a marriage certificate for Samuel JOWETT marrying Sarah TATHAM on 30/01/1861. On that certificate Samuel's father is Robert JOWETT, from parish registers I have previously done lots of work on him, and his marriage and many children - to find that he isn't "my" family would be awful.

The JOWETTs are all from the Cullingworth/Wilsden/Denholme/Halifax area.

Have I linked to the wrong Samuel JOWETT?
    Could it possibly be that the Vicar/registrar put the wrong lady's name? (I have certificate errors in my records, but none as blatant as this would be)