Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: john langan

LANGO

Default john langan

Any information would be appreciated.John langan born 1858.Died 1919.Married to Margaret Cosgrove born 1860.Seven children.Thomas 1881.William 1882.Julia 1884.James 1886.Mary 1888.Margaret 1890.John T.Langan 1893.Died 1973.(My grandfather.)Married Ellen Mcgowan 8 March 1919. born 29 June 1894.They had seven children.One was my father John Langan born 31 December 1923.Died 10 February 2002.

Loves to help with queries

Hi Lango

you say 'any information' but you obviously have quite a lot already. So, to avoid us giving you lots of information you already have, can you make a specific request?

LANGO

Dear Sumi,Thank you for replying.I am new to all this and am not sure where I should be going.Great granddads occupation and where he was originally from and perhaps go back even further.Dad and grandad were from Birkenhead.

terrysfamily

Both CheshireBMD and FreeBMD have John Thomas’s wifes surname as MCKEOWN. Their 7 children are down as mothers maiden name McKeown too. Is this the English way of spelling Mcgowan? Or has it just been mistranscribed on the all the registers?

Cheshire Marriage indexes for the years: 1919
    Surname LANGAN
    Forename(s) John T
    Surname MCKEOWN
    Forename(s) Ellen
    Church / Register Office Birkenhead, Civil Marriage
    Registers At Reference Wirral

Marriages Mar 1919
    Langan John T McKeown Birkenhead 8a 903
    McKeown Ellen Langan Birkenhead 8a 903

Nicolina

If he was John T(homas) then this looks like him in 1861 except his place of birth is given as Oldham.
    RG09/3007/93 Page 12
    Henshaw Street, Oldham
    Michael LANGAN b. abt. 1832 in Ireland occ: Outdoor labourer
    Ann LANGAN b. abt. 1835 in Ireland occ: Cotton Factory Operative
    John Tho. LANGAN b. abt. 1856 in Oldham
    James LANGAN b. abt. 1857 in Oldham
    Bridget LANGAN b. abt. 1860 (5 months) in Oldham

a possible marriage:
    Sep 1853
    LANGAN Michael Oldham 8d 983