Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    notsosure59

Default TRACING THOMAS MCEVOY,LIMERICK JUNCTION

Hello Hello
    I have recently started to trace relatives from Ireland. I have had great help and luck with my fathers side the FARRELLY'S from WESTMEATH. Not so with my grandmothers side of the family, the MCEVOY'S from LIMERICK JUNCTION, TIPPERARY
    My grandmother MARY ELLEN was born in Limerick Junction in 1887, her father (my great grandfather THOMAS MCEVOY) was a railway porter at the time of her birth and we are told actually retired as station master at Limerick Junction??
    I can find no trace anywhere in the 1901 or 1911 census of an address for any of this family. I have found a William McEvoy, railway signalman living in Ballykisteen - a relative maybe?
    MARY ELLEN married PATRICK FARRELLY, my grandfather and moved to Manchester. My dad Terence was born in Manchester in 1921.
    I am a beginner to all of this, so any tips or advice tracing my grandmother's roots in Limerick would be most appreciated.
    Thanks
    Patrick

Brick wall demolition expert!

Quote Originally Posted by notsosure59 View Post
    My grandmother MARY ELLEN was born in Limerick Junction in 1887, her father (my great grandfather THOMAS MCEVOY) was a railway porter
    You haven't said who Mary's mother was. Could the family be in Lancashire in 1901 and 1911?

1901: RG13 Piece: 3662 Folio: 22 Page: 35

1911: RG14/23607 SN340

Richard1955

Hi Patrick
    www.
    rootsireland.ie shows Mary Elen McEvoy birth 1887 Tipperary but you'll have to buy credits to view it. (sorry Markj)
    Searched the 1901 Irish and UK census.
    Only the two possibilities and you will probably find the marriage place to be close to one of them.
    https://www.familysearch.org/s/searc...ed=true&page=1
    Obviously if the marriage is between 1901 and 1911 you should be looking for Mary Ellen Farrelly in 1911 but you haven't said when or where the marriage was.
    Hope that helps
    Richard