Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help please.

JessM

Default Help please.

I am helping a friend to research her Jewish roots. Her paternal side are Jacobs - fruit salesmen from Covent Garden.

I have lots of info including a Will, census records; some birth certificates and notices from the Jewish Chronicle - from The Victorian Jew edited by Doreen Berger and from an on-line site). I also have trial transcripts from the Old Bailey web site which have some of the family as witnesses.

However, I am new to Jewish family research and don't have a clue as to what info would be available from syagogues; where to find graves; variations on jewish names etc etc. I am not Jewish and know nothing of Jewish tradition.

Could anyone help point me in the right direction.

The direct line I am researching is:

1. Abraham Jacobs born c1809 Houndsditch
    married
    Rosetta Lazarus

2. Abraham (aka Charles or Charley) Jacobs born 1859 St Paul Covent Garden
    married
    Harriet Wright sometime before 1881

Please note, I have all the census records for this family (and the extended family) but would love to find out where and when Abraham and Rosetta married - their eldest child was born c1835. Abraham remarried after Rosetta's death and we have sent off for this marriage certificate which will hopefully give us the name and occupation of Abraham's father.

I'm having no luck in finding the index number for the marriage of Abraham junior to Harriet Wright. So, any help with that would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Jess

Knowledgeable and helpful

A month or so ago I came across a couple of sites concerning Jewish genealogy/roots...I'll see if I can find them again asap and let you know.
    Browneyes

Mutley

It might be worth looking at the
    JEWISH GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY OF GREAT BRITAIN site.

Mutley

When did Rosetta die?
    The above site has a burial at Brady Street, E1 for Rosetta Jacobs on 21 March 1852. (Section SWALL, Row 8, Plot 32).