+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Settling in.
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile Web Hosting...suggestions please?

    Owing to the imminent demise of Lycos and their subsidiary Tripod, I have to find a new home for my family history website. With the 'Credit Crunch' still in full swing, I'm a bit worried about hosting with a commercial company, paying them my hard earned money...and they go the same way as Lycos within a month! However I remember that I had real trouble getting any of the 'free' hosting sites to accept my website as it is written with MS FrontPage and a lot of companies don't like it...something to do with the scripting? I'm computer saavy but not saavy enough to want to a) tinker with the html script of my website to remove whatever it is that makes FP so unnacceptable to everyone. And b)...I'm lazy! I want to copy and paste a bit of text, add a few photos, upload it...done!! And FP works perfectly for that!

    So, any sugestions on a cheap...or preferably free ...web hosting company?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    MarkJ
    Guest

    Default

    Do you not have some free webspace with your ISP?

    Mark

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Lesley Robertson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,060
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 372 Times in 296 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MarkJ View Post
    Do you not have some free webspace with your ISP?

    Mark

    I was about to ask the same thing. My OPS website is prepared on a combination of MS Publisher and Front Page, and I keep it on the webspace supplied as part of my internet account.
    Lesley

  4. #4
    Settling in.
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Wow...that was quick!!

    Yes I do have free space with my ISP...who don't allow sites designed with FP, unfortunately!! That was my original problem. I suppose I could re-design my website on another programme, I have a free version of Serif's Web Plus, for instance...but it seems a shame to reinvent the wheel when I have a perfectly good site already that just needs a new home!

    Thanks for the speedy response!

  5. #5
    MarkJ
    Guest

    Default

    I actually pay for my hosting but that is my own personal choice. I have got some ISP webspace which can be activated if I so desire, but I hate my ISP with a vengence anyway

    There has been discussion on free hosting on the forum in the past - but my arguments against it are - lack of functionality (e.g no cgi or php etc) in many cases and the advertising banners, subtle or not, which are used by most freebie hosting accounts.

    Mark

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Lesley Robertson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,060
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 372 Times in 296 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Catherine N View Post
    Wow...that was quick!!

    Yes I do have free space with my ISP...who don't allow sites designed with FP, unfortunately!! That was my original problem. I suppose I could re-design my website on another programme, I have a free version of Serif's Web Plus, for instance...but it seems a shame to reinvent the wheel when I have a perfectly good site already that just needs a new home!

    Thanks for the speedy response!

    What happens if you just edit your current site using Serif?
    Lesley

  7. #7
    MarkJ
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Catherine N View Post
    Wow...that was quick!!

    Yes I do have free space with my ISP...who don't allow sites designed with FP, unfortunately!! That was my original problem. I suppose I could re-design my website on another programme, I have a free version of Serif's Web Plus, for instance...but it seems a shame to reinvent the wheel when I have a perfectly good site already that just needs a new home!

    Thanks for the speedy response!
    Do you actually use FP scripts? Or is your page fairly basic stuff?

    Writing it up in html (or even doing a bit of judicious editing of the old page to remove the FP stuff) is very easy.

    There are several free and easy to use html editing tools around which will let you work in much the same way as FP (i.e the WYSIWYG way). If your ISP doesn't like FP designed sites, do they have a free tool for creating sites themselves? I know one of the large ISPs used to have tools for website design which you could download from their site for example.


    Mark

  8. #8
    Settling in.
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I'm happy to pay a small sum per month for hosting. I'm just not willing to pay big bucks per month when I only get about 5 hits a year...and two of them are probably me testing that the site still works!!. My other concern is that whoever I choose may not last out the year...although, I suppose judging by the loses of some of the companies we've seen go under in the last few months, no one is safe! I'll have a scout around on the web and see what I can come up with...thanks again!

  9. #9
    MarkJ
    Guest

    Default

    I would probably look at rebuilding the site without the FP stuff and then sticking it on your ISP space. That would be the most reliable method. Then make a backup of the site just in case of problems in the future, remembering to update the backup if you update the main site.
    Freebie hosting services - and quite likely many paid for hosting services - are struggling at the moment and several have gone under recently. Even one of the big ISPs recently pulled one of its free webbuilding pages without any notice, leaving lots of their customers with no access to their websites any longer.

    Mark

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Neil Wilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    2,035
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 95 Times in 88 Posts

    Default

    Hi
    I have checked with my ISP and this is their answer
    You can use frontpage to create your site but if there is a component on your page that requires frontpage server extension, this will not work as we no longer support it. Also connecting to the server using ftp frontpage is no longer possible but you can however upload your website files using any ftp program

    Therefore, like Mark says, redo your pages without the FrontPage scripts.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Select a file: