Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    lenny

Default DIXON Manchester/Salford

Hi, I'm new to this site but I've been researching family for a couple of years on and off. I'm looking for my gt grandfather, James Dixon and family in 1901.
    So far I've got his marriage to Emily Rodgers in 1884, they were shown as living in St Pauls parish. James was 21 and Emily was 20. The first address I have for them is Goulden Street Fire Station in 1884, from there Jacksons Row Fire Station 1889. On the 1891 census James was living in Dougill Street Hulme (he was now a night watchman at the assizes) with Emily and their children Gilbert, Ralph, Ada and Hilda. Another son, James was born after the 1891 census but I dont have any records for him yet. In 1895 I have a record showing 55 Oldfield Dwellings Salford as the family home. Emily had another son Leonard on 8th April 1901, the address on the birth certificate is 78 Bigland Street Salford, the odd thing is there is no father's name entered. I have'nt been able to find Emily or the rest of the family on the 1901 census. The next address I have is shown on Gilbert's death certificate, he died of Typhoid in 1903, 7 Heaps Building Salford. Sorry if this is a bit long winded but any help in finding records for any of the family would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Len

salcat

seeing as Emily's son Leonard was born so soon after the 1901 census (31.3.1901) have you tried searching to find the Bigland St entry? It would seem strange that she should move house so late in pregnancy!

You can go to 1901census site

and search by address, though it will cost 75p to see the actual page, or if you have access to one of the other sites eg A*** you could trawl through the Salford enumeration district descriptions to find the address (there are quite a lot though!)

HTH

S

lenny

Default 1901 Census

Thanks for your reply, I have already tried searching the address with no luck. I'll not give up yet though.

Len

salcat