Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Jams

Default marriage lookup Rumney

I am trying to find information on a marriage between William Rumney & Martha Anderson, I think they were married in England sometime between 1901 and 1906. Martha emigrated to arizona in 1906 as Martha Rumney but I cant find any information of when William emigrated although it should have been between 1901 and 1906 also. I am new to this research so would appreciate information on websites that I can search for this marriage.

Jan1954

Hello Jams,

I have found this on FreeBMD, which will probably muddy the waters. However, it seemed a bit of a coincidence:

Marriages Mar 1904
    Anderson Martha Rumney Whitehaven 10b 887
    Crewdson Alexander W Whitehaven 10b 887
    Kerr Mary Whitehaven 10b 887
    RIGG William Henry Whitehaven 10b 887

I don't know whether she married Alexander or William, but the combination of names stood out.

What do you think?

Wirral

FreeBMD lists 2 children with surname RIGG & mother's name ANDERSON; Ada M. b.1911, Thomas H. b.1915, both in Whitehaven.

Jan1954

Quote Originally Posted by Wirral View Post
    FreeBMD lists 2 children with surname RIGG & mother's name ANDERSON; Ada M. b.1911, Thomas H. b.1915, both in Whitehaven.

Hmmm - and Mr Rigg's first name was William...

Wirral

Manifest for SS Etruria sailing from Liverpool 30 Sep 1905, arriving New York 7 Oct 1905:
    Martha RUMNEY, 27, female, wife, British, speaks English, can read & write, last residence - Cleaton Moor, has ticket for final destination, going to Bisbee, has not been in US before, has $35, she paid for the tickets for her & her daughter, going to join husband W. RUMNEY PO Box 1738 Bisbee. Also with her is their daughter Annabel age 2years 6mths.