Northolt John

Smile Any descendents of Bryant out there !

I am researching the ancestry of the Bryant family, formerly known as Briant at the turn of the 19th century, they mostly hale from Sedlescombe / Ewhurst / Ninfield / Barcombe / Yapton areas of Sussex, some information on births, deaths and marriages would be greatly appreciated, also information on Playfords as they appear to be closely related to the Bryants around the mid-1800's.

many thanks,
    John from Northolt
    Last edited by Northolt John; 23-08-2007 at 10:06 PM.

ead2149

Default bryant ancestry

hi northolt John,.
    I am a new member of BG, my husband found it first and has joined me - I'm a computer novice, my interest only starting with my genealogy research.
    My maiden name was Bryant.
    My father Peter Bryant was born in Devizes in Wiltshire and my grandfather William James married Elizabeth Hale born in West Lavington in 1908 , and his father Alfred Bryant was born in Potterne just outside Devizes and married Catherine Perrett from Market Lavington about 1879. Alfred also had a son Henry who was born just before the 1881 census. The 1901 census also shows siblings of Henry and William as Edith Arthur and Florence.
    My father had several sisters but only one brother William and the name was carried on through his 2 sons, still living and there are still Bryant's in Devizes.
    I haven't gone too far back after Alfred with any confirmation but there were a lot of Bryants in the Calne area of Wiltshire on the censuses which may be a lead.
    I did read somewhere that the name may have originally come over from Ireland as O'Brian but I remain open on this.
    Hope if this doesn't help your research it may be of interest.

genehunting

Hello, I do have Bryant ancestors from Fairlight, Sussex. My 2nd great grandmother was Mary Ann Bryant:
    Her parents :William Bryant (1775-) and Sarah Wepham
    Life Range: 1802 - 16 January 1873
    1802 Birth: Fairlight East Sussex England.