Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Starting to feel at home

Default Death notice query ?

Hi,
    Is there anyone that may be able to through some light on the death notices of my great-grandfather which appeared in Sydney Morning Herald on Saturday December 24, 1887. It is the second notice that bewilders me greatly....the Friends of Mr Robert Waddell are respectfully invited to attend the funeral of his father-in-law etc. Why has Robert Waddell been favoured as a relative, when there were a wife and several other sons-in-law, daughters and sons living in Sydney at that time. Any possible explanations ??? I am afraid I don't have any and I have no contact or personal knowledge of Robert Waddell except that he was married to Annie Harrison (my great-great Aunt) in 1879 and he died in 1896. Did he have some standing that may have led to the funeral notice !!!!!
    Here are the notices as they appeared:
    Funerals.
    SMH, Saturday December 24, 1887 p.18.
    THE FRIENDS OF MR THOMAS SIMPSON HARRISON, are respectfully invited to attend his Funeral, to move from his late residence, 54 Albert-street, Redfern, THIS (Saturday) AFTERNOON at 2 o’clock, for the Necropolis.
    THE FRIENDS OF MR ROBERT WADDELL are respectfully invited to attend the Funeral of his FATHER-IN-LAW, Mr Thomas Simpson Harrison to move from his late residence, 54 Albert-street, Redfern, THIS (Saturday) AFTERNOON at 2 o’clock, for the Necropolis.

Any thoughts ???? Best wishes,
    Ken Halliday.

Philippa_Harvey

Ken, could it be that the son-in-law actually put the notice in the paper himself? The first could have been placed either by the immediate family or by the undertakers on their behalf, the second an independent submission by Thomas.