Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    R1234

Default Davis/Davies, Jenkins - Looking for any info

As a newbie I'm looking to discover the parents names, thier lodgings and grave sites of a Jenkins Davis b. 1836/38 in Glamorgan perhaps Merthyr Tyfdil. Jenkins Davis married an Elizabeth Thomas (1859 to 1862) whose father was a William Thomas and mother went by Polly. Jenkins may also be Jenkin abd his fathers name was David Davis. Jenkin also had atleast one sister; first name unkown.

Jenkin migrated to the coal fields in Pennslyvania around 1860-1863. He may have gone alone and then his bride to follow. He may have left from Liverpool. Documentation points to his first born David to have been born in Wales. All of his other children were born in the US. He had four sons in total. I'm interested in using the membership to allow someone to research this information to see if some matches can be found.

There is a possible marriage March quarter 1861 Merthyr Tydfil Vol 11a page 365
    Jenkin DAVIES and Elizabeth THOMAS are on the same page.

You don't specify where your house is () but you can get copies of certificates online here

The certificate would give you the name of Jenkin's father.
    Sue Mackay
    Insanity is hereditary - you get it from your kids

Brick wall demolition expert!

Quote Originally Posted by R1234 View Post
    As a newbie I'm looking to discover the parents names, thier lodgings and grave sites of a Jenkins Davis b. 1836/38 in Glamorgan perhaps Merthyr Tyfdil. Jenkins Davis married an Elizabeth Thomas (1859 to 1862) whose father was a William Thomas and mother went by Polly. Jenkins may also be Jenkin abd his fathers name was David Davis. Jenkin also had atleast one sister; first name unkown.
    One possibility in the census is this ...

1851: HO107; Piece: 2458; Folio: 527; Page: 18 (crown copyright, care of the TNA)
    Merthyr Tydfil, Glamorgan
    DAVIES, David 45, iron miner
    DAVIES, Mary 39
    DAVIES, Jenkin 14, coal miner