pteverett001

Default William Darby - Beccles

I am fairly new to researching my family tree and have found my Great x 4 Grandfather William Darby is shown in the 1851 census as a Waterman in Beccles, Suffolk (although born in Bungay). Someone mentioned he may have been the master of a Wherry called Emmet but I don't know where that info comes from.

Does anyone have guidance on if there is any more info I can find out about him and what watermen in Beccles did.

Thanks

Paul

Jan1954

Hello Paul - welcome to Brit-Gen

Now, although Beccles is in Suffolk, the River Waveney upon which it stands, has northern banks which stretch into Norfolk. There is a Public House in Beccles that was called the Waterman's Arms on the corner of Fen Lane and Northgate (now called the Quayside Bar), thus showing that watermen were an important occupation in the town.

I would suggest that you contact the Suffolk Family History Society (suffolkfhs.co.uk/ - put www. in front) to see what they can help with.

One place to earmark for the Spring (it does not open again until April) is the Beccles Museum. I expect that they would also have a lot about watermen.

Good luck!

Geoffers

Welcome to B-G forums.

See Jan's reply above, also

If you don't know what a wherry looks like. Use a search engine to look for 'Norfolk Wherry Trust - Albion' - there is a photo album on the site.

You might also try the Picture Norfolk site and simply enter 'wherry'. The images shown can be enlarged by clicking on them.