Georgia Beach

Wink Just Getting Started

Hi, I'm just getting started at this and i'm already bemused.

I'm looking into the surnames woodcroft and swain in the biggleswade area.

I've only got to my grandparents and great grandparents and am already confused by what i've found.

My greatgrandfather was Ernest Charles Woodcroft (1881), according to my mother (Andrea Swain) he was married to Elizabeth Walker. This appeard to be true until i looked into the births of my grandmother and her siblings. I found another surname (Skilleter) associated with all (Jack Bertie 1903, Charles F 1905, Sidney R 1910, Gladys A my grandmother 1912, Phyllis E 1917, Ronald F 1924) except the final child Norma E which was the only one to be listed with Walker.

I'm very confused by this and can't shed any light by looking into the marriage stuff.

Please can you help or point me in the right direction of where to turn to next?

Many Thanks, Georgia.

Brick wall demolition expert!

There is a marriage in 1902:

Skilleter Elizabeth Biggleswade 3b 763
    Woodcroft Ernest Charles Biggleswade 3b 763

I wonder if there was a marriage to an Elizabeth Walker, just prior to the birth of the last child.

Adele

Jan1954

Hi there Georgia - welcome to Brit-Gen

Now, just to put a cat amongst the pigeons, I had a look on FreeBMD for any SKILLETER/WALKER marriages - just in case Elizabeth's maiden name was Walker and she had married a Mr Skilleter prior to becoming Mrs Woodcroft.

That does not seem to be the case..... BUT..... I did find the following:

Marriages December quarter 1885
    Biggleswade district
    Volume 3b
    Page 727

There is an Emma SKILLETER and a Robert WALKER on the same page. It does not say if they were married to each other as there were a couple of other names on the page as well.

So.... then I got to thinking.....