esslw

Default Missing person: Second Boer War

Hello all!

I have a missing relative who is supposed to have fought in the second Boer war:

Name: David Prothero
    Born: 1880 (Llanbedr, Painscastle, Wales)
    Parents: Thomas Prothero, Sarah Ann Prothero (nee Davies - or Gwynne)
    Siblings: Thomas, Arthur, Emily, Albert, Herbert, Elizabeth, Leonard, Mildred
    Last seen: On the 1991 census (aged 11) - living with his Uncle David and Auntie Ann in Clyro Radnorshire.

The only other record for 'David' that I can find is a death record (1960), but this actually belongs to his brother Herbert - who took his name (possibly to hide his own identity when he married for the second time). Given that family rumour suggests David fought in the Boer war, I'm wondering if this might explain why he's missing from UK records (and why his brother felt able to take his name).

I'm quite new to research in general - and whilst I've 'browsed' some of the military files, I'm really not sure what I'm doing (or what I'm actually looking at for that matter!) or how to go about looking for David. I would be extremely grateful if some clever person could help me out...

Geoffers

IF your chap joined the army, his records will be held at The National Archives (TNA) at Kew. Have a read through their research guide - British Army - Soldiers Discharge Papers 1760-1913

TNA are arranging for the records to be made available online - this should be by 2011 if you can wait that long.

Have you found your chap in the 1911 census? If so, what was he doing then? If he served continually until WW1, it may be worth checking the records already available online on Ancestry's site.

Are you sure that David didn't die young?

esslw

Sadly the 1911 census isn't going to be of any use to me for a little while as Wales isn't online yet.