Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Janny49

Red face Looking for John Maddocks

Hi there new friends I'm a newbie from Canada. Searching for my Great times 4 Grandfather. So far have found a lot of info on the census, but there's a big gap between 1851 and 1841 and earlier, back to 1802 when I think he was born. Name I'm looking for is John Maddocks. Last found on the 1851 census at 49 years old, head of household, coal miner from Bersham, Denbighshire, Wales. Can see that he had 4 children: John b. 1828, George b. 1833, Mary b. 1834, Jane b. 1835. Then later on his son John had a son called Edwin Maddocks b. 1857 (some confusion where Edwin was born - some say Bersham, Denbighshire and some say Coed Poeth, Flintshire). I can't seem to find this John Maddocks - wife's name or marriage. They all seemed to have lived in Bersham, or Wrexham district and all of the men were coal miners. Can anyone help me fill in the gaps? Thank you.

janbooth

Default Edwin MADDOCKS

Hello and welcome to the Forum.

I have found Edwin MADDOCKS in the 1861 census of Bersham as follows:

RG9/4284, folio 68, page 11
    2 Penygelli Road

John DAVIES Head Mar 32 Coal Miner Denbighsh Bersham
    Mary do Wife Mar 25 do Wife do do
    Elizabeth do Daug 6 do Daug do do
    John do Son 3 do Son do do
    Mary do Daug 2 do Daug do do
    John MADDOCKS Father in law Widwr 59 Coal Miner do do
    Edwin do Brother in law 7 Scholar do do