buyer beware
I joined a Genealogy Site a while ago, I added 4 images and got free 1 year membership, I now wish to leave the site, as anyone can look at the site member or not, so why be a member, but am told that I can't end my membership and remove my images. Also told in her own words " The images are now LEGALLY mine as " you " gave them ( of your own free will ) TO ME "
Plus a load of abuse to go with it. I thought they would belong to the site and not a person, and I could remove them whenever I wish, not just on this site but any, am I wrong ? As you can imagine I am not a happy bunny, what I need now is aAny views on this would be very welcome.
Sue
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Thread: BUYER BEWARE
-
05-08-2008 9:37 AM #1Loves to help with queries.
- Join Date
- May 2008
- Location
- Wirral
- Posts
- 133
- Thanks
- 1
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BUYER BEWARE
-
05-08-2008 10:22 AM #2Reputation beyond repute
- Join Date
- Oct 2004
- Location
- Kent
- Posts
- 12,658
- Thanks
- 1
- Thanked 878 Times in 816 Posts
If you're that unhappy you should name and shame
-
05-08-2008 10:51 AM #3Super Moderator
- Join Date
- Sep 2004
- Location
- Newport, Gwent
- Posts
- 1,705
- Blog Entries
- 4
- Thanks
- 39
- Thanked 140 Times in 84 Posts
If the site owner has abused you, and you have a copy of the message you should seriously consider giving it to the police. Internet abuse is becoming very prevalent and the police are taking it seriously.
You should not be afraid to tell us where the site is and what they said.
If they are within their rights then they have nothing to fear, if they are not then it is their own faultLadkyis
“You can’t give her that!” she screamed. “It’s not safe!”
IT’S A SWORD, said the Hogfather. THEY’RE NOT MEANT TO BE SAFE.
I am fluent in three languages, English, Sarcasm and Profanity
-
05-08-2008 11:04 AM #4ProcatGuest
Are there terms and conditions on the site that state that you agree to pass ownership etc etc?
-
05-08-2008 2:06 PM #5Needs glasses to read properly but knowledgeable and very helpful.
- Join Date
- May 2008
- Location
- From Kent; now living in Massachusetts
- Posts
- 699
- Blog Entries
- 1
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
What site is it, please?
-
05-08-2008 2:06 PM #6Starting to feel at home
- Join Date
- Jul 2008
- Location
- Chichester, West Sussex. England.
- Posts
- 65
- Thanks
- 3
- Thanked 8 Times in 3 Posts
Where is this site? So that we may all steer clear of it!
-
05-08-2008 2:17 PM #7A fountain of knowledge.
- Join Date
- Jul 2008
- Location
- Epping, Victoria, Australia
- Posts
- 484
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Copyright laws in Australia state that publications (incl. websites) have the right to one usage of your images if you willingly supplied them for publication. The law clearly states that all images are the legal property of the photographer at all times.
Here is a snippet of something sent to me by one of my editors:
Photos remain the copyright of the photographer unless otherwise agreed.
I don't know how the laws stack up elsewhere in the world but I assume they would be similar in the USA and UK
-
05-08-2008 3:14 PM #8Needs glasses to read properly but knowledgeable and very helpful.
- Join Date
- May 2008
- Location
- From Kent; now living in Massachusetts
- Posts
- 699
- Blog Entries
- 1
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I can understand the reluctance to publicly state it, but it would be helpful to know the name because even the US there are copyright laws. If we are to "beware" as suggested by the title of this thread, we should know of what.
-
05-08-2008 4:00 PM #9Loves to help with queries.
- Join Date
- May 2008
- Location
- Wirral
- Posts
- 133
- Thanks
- 1
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi all
Sorry to hide away, but it has bothered me quite a bit, so here goes the site gumshoegenealogy.com .Thanks for all your support so far. Sue
-
05-08-2008 4:13 PM #10Starting to feel at home
- Join Date
- Jul 2008
- Location
- Chichester, West Sussex. England.
- Posts
- 65
- Thanks
- 3
- Thanked 8 Times in 3 Posts
I just had a look. A pretty spartan site, a few photos but nothing to get excited about. The forum says you have to be registered but I posted there a test message no problem - lol. I think someone just set it up as a moneymaker.
There are 451 photos there and the site has been going since 2006. The site states that hundreds are added weekly (I don't think so). In fact the same list is shown for each category of items. i.e. photos, yearbook, documents, military etc. Basically there is not a lot there, just 451 'items'.
Give it a wide berth!Last edited by Creighton; 05-08-2008 at 4:27 PM. Reason: Addendum
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 5:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.1.3
Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.

Any views on this would be very welcome.
Reply With Quote
Bookmarks