19-08-07.
I have just been on the Ancestry site and was about to sign up, when a warning
popped up to say it was a site pretending to be a search site and trying to get your personal Details, be careful.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Thread: ancestry Site. warning.
-
19-08-2007 4:59 PM #1Newcomer to Brit-Gen
- Join Date
- Aug 2007
- Location
- Bootle-by-the-sea- Merseyside
- Posts
- 9
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ancestry Site. warning.
-
19-08-2007 5:37 PM #2MarkJGuest
Hi Joan,
Originally Posted by scousejoan
Was this using Vista or IE7?
I will check the site now myself and see if there is anything odd about it. Did you go to the site via a bookmark or from a link elsewhere?
Mark
Edit: I just went to the ancestry site and it looks OK to me, so I am wondering if you perhaps followed a link from somewhere else which was phoney?
If you did, and you still have the link you followed, I can get the site looked into (and shut down if it is a phishing one) if you PM the address of the site you got the link from.Last edited by Guest; 19-08-2007 at 10:12 PM.
-
19-08-2007 5:40 PM #3A glorious beacon of light
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
- Location
- New Brighton, Wirral
- Posts
- 3,008
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
How did you get to this "Ancestry" site? Was it through following a link or was it through going directly? In the past you could register with Ancestry - you needed to give them some information (name & address, email), but you did not get access to all their databases, only those that are free. To access all the databases you need to pay for a subscription with them - then you do need to give card details. Maybe they have changed the site, so that you need to register your name & address before you can access any of the databases. Or was it a completely phoney, phishing site?
Last edited by Guest; 19-08-2007 at 10:13 PM.
-
19-08-2007 7:23 PM #4Newcomer to Brit-Gen
- Join Date
- Aug 2007
- Location
- Bootle-by-the-sea- Merseyside
- Posts
- 9
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ancestry site.
Hi Wirral, I typed in Ancestry typed in the name clicked on to continue, and agreed to the 14 days free trial and thats when the warning popped up, I can't for the life of me, find the place I saw it, will keep trying.
Originally Posted by Wirral
Joan.Last edited by Guest; 19-08-2007 at 10:14 PM.
-
19-08-2007 7:37 PM #5A glorious beacon of light
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
- Location
- New Brighton, Wirral
- Posts
- 3,008
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If that is the case, then it sounds as if your computer security filter is set too sensitive. You were agreeing to take out a 14 day trial subscription. You have to give those details before you can have the 14 days free trial. At the end of the 14 days you can cancel the subscription if you decide not to continue & no money should be taken from your account.
Originally Posted by scousejoan
-
19-08-2007 8:00 PM #6Newcomer to Brit-Gen
- Join Date
- Aug 2007
- Location
- Bootle-by-the-sea- Merseyside
- Posts
- 9
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello Wirral, I have been back to the site. ancestry UK and Ireland
Originally Posted by Wirral
records collection. On the warning that popped up it said web site certified by an unknown Authority. and gave a list of things that could be wrong with the site, or it was my browser. I hope I haven't caused you needless concern.
Joan.
P S. I use XP.Last edited by Guest; 19-08-2007 at 10:14 PM.
-
19-08-2007 10:12 PM #7Starting to feel at home.
- Join Date
- Jul 2007
- Location
- Medway, Kent
- Posts
- 99
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
could be your "root certificates" are out of date
if you go to windows updates
www.windowsupdate.com
and look under Custom
it will be an update there
-
20-08-2007 2:32 AM #8Loves to help with queries.
- Join Date
- Oct 2004
- Location
- Manchester, UK
- Posts
- 244
- Thanks
- 1
- Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Joan,
Originally Posted by scousejoan
Don't worry, I think we'd all rather receive a few alerts that turn out to be false alarms than not know when there are scumbag villains about!
C
-
20-08-2007 9:15 AM #9A glorious beacon of light
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
- Location
- New Brighton, Wirral
- Posts
- 3,008
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hear, hear!
Originally Posted by Clive Blackaby
And now we know what to do about another type of certificate, thanks to Browntoa. You never know what you are going to learn on this site.
-
20-08-2007 10:48 AM #10Newcomer to Brit-Gen
- Join Date
- Aug 2007
- Location
- Bootle-by-the-sea- Merseyside
- Posts
- 9
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Site Warning False alarm.
Thanks to every one, I did Panic a bit, and got in a flap because I had to search for it again, should have put it in Bookmarks.
Originally Posted by Wirral
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.1.3
Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.

Reply With Quote
Bookmarks