PDA

View Full Version : death duty register?

hilarykellis
26-08-2010, 5:19 AM
Hi,
I searched for Benjamin Whitehead, my ancestor, in the Death Duty Register Index and found him. I don't live in the UK so I sadly don't have access to the Nat'l Archives. Is there a way for me to send off for a copy of the death duty register for this ancestor? Sorry, I'm quite new to this..

Waitabit
26-08-2010, 5:43 AM
Hi Hilarykellis, if you found this on NAtional Archives, there is a "help & FAQ" just above the info on the right of page. Click on this & go to 'payments' or click here (http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/help/help-payment.asp)
This will tell you how to send for & pay for the info you want. You'll need a Visa card or similar, which if you keep to just enough to pay for these things shouldn't be a risk to you.

Similarly, you can click on 'add to shopping' then 'check out'

Maybe there is an easier way which someone will offer up later.

hilarykellis
26-08-2010, 5:49 AM
Hi waitabit,
Thanks so much for your response. I found the entry in the index online at Findmypast.co.uk. Do you think there's some way I can write to the Archives with the name of my ancestor, year, and court and they can find my document and send it? I'm so confused, as usual, haha.

Waitabit
26-08-2010, 5:54 AM
This will find the National Archives for you:
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/death-duty.asp

click on search in the first paragraph, Death Duty Registers (1796 - 1811) fillin the name of your person & follow earlier leads.

good hunting. Download is almost immediate if you have the card available.

Waitabit
26-08-2010, 5:59 AM
Sorry, didn't answer your query, there is a 'contact us' below the form that is to be filled out "Getting in Touch" this will tell you much more thanI can, as I've only ever applied online & downloaded the info.

hilarykellis
26-08-2010, 6:04 AM