PDA

View Full Version : Berridges

Stephanie
23-10-2004, 3:29 PM
Hello, as Im new to this can anyone help. We have birth cert. dated 1846 for G.Grandfather John Henry Berridge. Name of mother is given as Mary Berridge formerly name we cant read or find. Father William Berridge. We cannot find a William and Mary getting married that tie in with them. Last find is on 1881 census, there's a William & Mary Berridge living in Bramley Surrey. Gives birthplace for Mary as Louth Lincolnshire. Any help would be much appreciated.

Lindad
23-10-2004, 9:28 PM
Hi Stephanie

Could either of these be them:

BURRIDGE, William Marriage
Wife: Mary CHAMBERLAIN
Marriage Date: 29 Sep 1834 Recorded in: Melbourn, Cambridgeshire, England
Source: FHL Film 990296 Dates: 1796 - 1851

BURRIDGE, William Marriage
Wife: Mary GADBERY
Marriage Date: 17 May 1840 Recorded in: Saint Albans, Hertfordshire, England
Collection: St Michael
Husband's Father: William BURRIDGE
Wife's Father: James GADBERY
Source: FHL Film 1040818 Dates: 1837 - 1895

You didn't say where the birth certificate said he was born... was it Lincolnshire - or did you just get that from the possible census entry?

Stephanie
24-10-2004, 4:30 PM
Thank you for taking the time to reply. Unfortunately, neither of those are our William & Mary.

We have no definite proof William comes from Lincolnshire. But, we did find a William being born in Greatford, Lincs. that ties in roughly with how old he would have been. Also, the William & Mary on the 1881 census he comes from Greatford. We need confirmation that this is our William. John Henry's birth cert. Marys maiden name looks like Hexford, Hendford, or even Sleaford, Slenford, Slexford.

womble42
30-12-2004, 9:31 AM
Hi -

Out of interest where was your John Henry Berridge born? I am also researching a line of John Berridges in Rutland? Any possible links?

Regards,

Ian B.

Pam Downes
30-12-2004, 1:04 PM
Hi Stephanie,

Let's re-examine the evidence :)