PDA

View Full Version : Can I find out any more info?

Tenny
12-11-2007, 2:21 PM
Hello all,

This is my first posting and I am very new to geneology so I hope you'l be patient !!

I am trying to find out anything about my paternal grandparents. The background is that my father was brought up by foster parents, not knowing his true name until he joined the army at 14. He was born in December 1914 & his bc states his father was Alexander Middleton, profession: private in the RAMC. His mother's name was Isabella, née Walker. Birth registered in Lambeth by I.Middleton.

Family legend was that his father was killed in WW1, and his mother died when he was a baby, hence the foster parents. My father never expressed any interest in finding out about his background, saying that there were family members alive when he needed them as a baby, but they weren't interested in helping him.

I've scoured the BMD indices looking for matching marriage entries for the grandparents, as far back as 1895. I've looked at the CWGC and War Pensions sites. Other people have checked on data bases of soldiers killed in WW1. I've looked for deaths of Isabella Middletons of an appropriate age up until 1920. I've looked at the 1901 census records. All without any really promising leads.

I don't know where else to look. Is there any chance of tracking down my grandparents given the information we have, or is this a futile exercise ? My main aim was to locate my grandfather's grave.

jeeb
12-11-2007, 3:04 PM
Hi Tenny,
You say your father's birth is registered in Lambeth and his mother was Isabella Walker. I am not finding this birth registration. The only Middleton registered in the correct period is Jack Middleton with a mother's maiden name of Young. This reg. is in Lambeth Jan/Mar 1915.
You have not said what your father was called. What was the name he was known by until he was 14?

Jeremy

Wirral
12-11-2007, 3:11 PM
Hi Tenny,